The Trust

The Winn-Manson Menton Trust was formed in 1970, is registered under the Charitable Trusts Act 1957 and is approved by the Inland Revenue Department as charitable for tax purposes.

The current trustees are:

  • Richard Cathie, Chair
  • Geraldine Baumann
  • Marilyn Duckworth
  • Steven Gentry
  • Hugo Manson
  • William Rubinstein
  • Gordon Stewart
  • Rosemary Wildblood
  • Bill Manhire

William Rubinstein is the representative trustee in France. He lives in Nice. Gordon Stewart also acts as a representative trustee in France.

The trustees work closely with, and are indebted to, the Embassy of the Republic of France in Wellington, New Zealand.

The Katherine Mansfield Memorial Room is owned by the city of Menton and is maintained by it and made available for Fellows to work in, pursuant to an agreement with the Trust.

The Trust acknowledges the contribution of the Public Trustee as administrator of the Sheilah Winn Charitable Trust, for ongoing financial support to the Fellowship.

The Trust acknowledges the contribution and support of Creative New Zealand as the administrator of the Prize.

The Nelson Rutherfurd Fund

This is a fund set up to honour the memory of a former New Zealand journalist, Nelson Rutherfurd. The fund is invested by the trustees and income is applied towards the costs of administering the Fellowship and topping up the grant when required.